Posted in communication and networking, design and architecture, education, electronic imaging and displays

Can’t write? Draw!

I heard a great interview with Lynda Barry on NPR’s Talk of the Nation on her latest book: Picture This. Lynda Barry is credited as creating a literary genre all her own, the graphic memoir/how-to.

During the interview they talk about the phenomenon of the hand/brain connection, and how the writing/drawing/creative process changes when writing with a pen vs. writing on a computer. Callers had also experienced this. She also talks about how great kids are at this (go kids!). I also love her idea of “Type-Chi” (like Tai Chi, but using the motions used to write the alphabet).

In her latest graphic memoir, Picture This: The Near-Sighted Monkey Book, she writes,”The worst thing I can do when I’m stuck is to start thinking and stop moving my hands.”

And if you also have doodler’s block too, or think you can’t draw?

“All I tell them is try drawing a cigarette on anybody in a magazine,” Barry tells NPR’s Neal Conan. “They always start laughing, and I can tell they always feel better.”

She has created some great workbooks (I own one!), and great combination of science and art. I have also experienced this when editing; I much rather prefer to edit on a piece of paper vs. Track Changes on a computer.

Have you experienced this? Let me know about it.

More about Lynda Barry.

Picture This: The Near-Sighted Monkey Book
By Lynda Barry
Hardcover, 204 pages
Drawn And Quarterly
List price: $29.95
Author:

Beth Kelley is a writer and researcher with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.