Posted in astronomy, biology, education

More science geek art

Maybe one of the reasons I post this kind of stuff so often on this blog isn’t just because the blog is supposed to be seeking out the intertwinings of art and science, but because it makes me feel better. On my desk right now I have two sketches: one of my interpretation of ballistic photons, based off a term I read in a book (although I later decided they were berserk rather than ballistic); and the other is of a species of butterfly I just randomly made up and started drawing because I was reading about bugs. I decided to name it morpho exercisii, because nymphis would have not been a work-appropriate genus (I had to look those up, I’m not THAT much of a nerd).

Anyway, seeing other people geek out and express their science in artistic ways just warms my heart and makes me feel less alone.

Item One – an interview with fashion and technology guru Diana Eng:

With a new book that brings tech-savvy to the fashion set, designer Diana Eng takes another step in her quest to unite science and style. In only four short years since graduating from the Rhode Island School of Design, fashion designer and self-proclaimed nerd Diana Eng has appeared on the hit game show Project Runway, co-founded the Brooklyn-based hacker collective NYC Resistor, and studied biomimetics at the University of Bath in the UK. Now Eng has released her first book, a DIY style manual called Fashion Geek. Popsci.com sat down with Eng to talk about the intersection of fashion and technology, the future of interactive clothing, and the difference between “nerds” and “geeks.”

Read the interview.

 

Item Two – Geological Embroidery

The GeekDad article is talking about all kinds of geeky artistry, but the one that stuck out for me was the embroidery representation of a lunar map. WOW!

Got any science-themed art you want to share?

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.