Posted in biology, communication and networking

Desktop analysis

There are a couple of blogs that focus specifically on what creative people’s desks look like. This is the first time I’ve seen it go into such in-depth analysis, although I know of a couple of psychologists that do this.

Oliver Sacks is an acclaimed author and physician, and a professor of neurology and psychiatry at Columbia University Medical Center.

Says Sacks “This is what my work looks like to begin with—you see these long yellow sheets, then I go over them with pens, pencils of different colors, signifying different generations. The feeling of a pen or the machine-gun-like clatter of a typewriter appeals to me. But also, I’m afraid of erasure. I’m terrified of the notion that at any moment a computer may collapse and destroy what one has done.”

Read more about Sacks’ desk and what it means.

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.