Posted in communication and networking, design and architecture, education, engineering, physics

Fun weekend family event: Portland Techshop

This is one of those “I can’t do it, so you should” posts.

The Portland Techshop recently opened in Portland, OR, and it sounds awesome! Just reading the first two (short) paragraphs on their website makes me giddy as a school girl*:

TechShop is a 33,000 square foot membership based workshop that provides members with any skill level to  have access to tools and equipment, instruction, and a creative and supportive community of like minded people so you can build the things you have always wanted to make.

TechShop is perfect for inventors, “makers”, hackers, tinkerers, artists, roboteers, families, entrepreneurs, youth groups, FIRST robotic teams, crackpots, arts and crafts enthusiasts, and anyone else who wants to be able to make things that they dream up but don’t have the tools, space or skills.

They have an electronics lab, a wood shop, a foundry, machine shop, industrial sewing machine … and more, but I have to take a break I’m hyperventilating I’m so excited and jealous I don’t live closer to Portland.

They have classes, memberships, and are looking for volunteers for anyone who’s interested in helping guide people and making sure nobody cuts a thumb off. But sacrifices must be made for science!

Tell me how it goes, or I may just make the four-hour drive to Portland to find out.

*(since I’m in graduate school, does that technically make me a school woman?)

Author:

Beth Kelley is a writer and researcher with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.