Posted in biology, education, electronic imaging and displays, medical imaging, Nanotechnology

itty bitty pretty pictures

Nikon had a competition for micro-photography. The top 20 are published online. Diatoms and bugs seemed to be a common theme among the winners, complimented by man-made things like nanotubes and paper. Medicine, like cancer drugs and vitamin C, also seem to make interesting micro-photos. My favorite was definitely the crustacean.

I’ve posted this information before (not this exact same recipe, but something close to it), but if you are interested in making your own, here is a fairly easy how-to on taking microphotographs. I still haven’t tried it out on my own yet, but I intend to take it off my to-do list and put it on my wall, or somewhere else on display.

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.