Posted in chemistry, engineering

Defend against fake fashion

And I’m not just talking about plaid jacket-and-pant sets (trust me, they don’t even look cool as a retro statement).

High fashion, haute couture designers like Stitch Ministry at this year’s Fashion Week introduced both flame-proof wool and chemically treated fibers woven into fabric to prove that that dress you’re wearing was made by the actual designer, and not some cheap knock off.

Just to show how out of the loop I am on fashion, I have never heard of this designer before, so I have no idea how important or easy it would be to create a fake version of one of their outfits. I guess for people who do know who Stitch Ministry is and are willing to pay big bucks for their clothes, it’s a big deal.

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.