Posted in communication and networking

Wordle rocks!

All of my loves – science, art, and words – combined into one! How did I not know of this thing sooner? Okay, in this case the science is actually a technology, computer programing, but it’s close enough to make me very pleased. I give you…Wordle! 

Wordle is a “toy,” as described on its website, created by IBM senior software engineer Jonathan Feinberg. It allows anyone to enter in a sample of text, and the program will analyze how often certain words were used in the text and will create an artistic interpretation of the word usage. It’s a lot cooler than I’m describing it; here’s a page from the Wordle gallery. My computer seems to be lacking something (apparently my Java isn’t up to date enough) so I cannot currently make one to show you my deepest thoughts, or a more artistic interpretation of my science articles, but as soon as I make one I’ll post it here. *edit* Hopefully this will work.

Try it out and post your results here! I’m interested to see what people come up with.

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.