Posted in education, electronic imaging and displays, Illumination, literature, Optics

Crafting book for techies

Wired has this book review of Fashioning Technology: A DIY Intro to Smart Crafting, a book that combines the itching needs of crafters and tech tinkerers (Published by O’Reilly; $20 on Amazon). John Baichtal of GeekDad does a great review. I haven’t read the book, but already I think this is a great concept, and I’d be interested to see just how doable the techy crafts actually are. I’m intrigued by the mere mentioning of electronic finger puppets.

My only gripe with the book right away is the subtitle: A DIY Intro to Smart Crafting. You can argue that it implies traditional crafting does not require smarts or technical know-how, when in fact crafting definitely requires brains, or at the very least a keen spatial awareness, and often the same skills required for techy endeavours (which is another reason why I think this book has major potential). I was a straight-A student throughout school, and I can’t figure out knitting at all. I guess everyone has their strengths. *sigh*

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.