Posted in biology, electronic imaging and displays, medical imaging

Your DNA as Art

Mary Danzer, an active proponent of combining art and technology, a fairy-wing maker and currently an English teacher in Germany (and also my friend), introduced me to this:

You now have the ability to send in your DNA (via cheek swab) to this company, who will then process your DNA, blow it up to portrait size, and send it back to you framed and ready to display above your mantle at home. This is one example. This company also offers Fingerprint and Kiss portraits. The kiss ones remind me a lot of Andy Warhol’s paintings, and are probably a lot cheaper.

My first reaction was “wow, this is so cool!” My second reaction was, “wow, this is so narcissistic.” My third reaction was, “every single tech, science, or biology person I know is going to want one of these.”

Author:

Beth Kelley is a writer and researcher with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.