Posted in biology, electronic imaging and displays, Optics

Gadgets for gardeners

Landscaping and gardening is definitely an art. I am slowly cultivating my green thumb after years of watching my grandfather and mother show me all their tricks (not tell me, just show, since they both considered gardening as a quiet “do not disturb” time of the day). I read this article yesterday about all these new, cool, fun gadgets to help out with one’s garden. While I do appreciate tools and gizmos to help take down tree branches and weeds, and I admit to having forgotten to water something until it was near death, my question is do techy tools take all the art out of gardening? When is this dance with nature no longer a dance and instead a calculated march?

Author:

Beth Kelley is an applied & digital anthropologist with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.