Posted in Solar and Alternative Energy

Recharge your phone by dancing

Why this isn’t being marketed as an ipod charger I don’t know.

Reuters is reporting a mobile phone operator Orange in the UK has teamed up with renewable energies company GotWind to develop a cell phone charger that runs of kinetic energy.

“The portable kinetic energy chargers will be given a test run at this year’s Glastonbury Festival, the world’s biggest greenfield music and arts celebration that begins on a farm in Somerset, southwest England on Friday [June 27].”

If these are ever marketed in the U.S., I would so get one of these if a) I had an ipod, and b) I didn’t have two left feet. I might just get one anyway because I like the idea of sweating for my access to electronics. A quick scan of Google doesn’t find anything like this for runners, but there should be. The market for this type of thing in the fitness industry is HUGE.

Author:

Beth Kelley is a writer and researcher with an overall interest in how people engage with and are impacted by their environments and vice versa. This has manifested itself in many ways, by looking at creativity, playful spaces and environmental enrichment, sustainability, design research, and integrative and collaborative models of learning such as through play and hands-on learning.